Berry Oatmeal Crumble Bars

IMG_5249Welcome to my first official post! This is so exciting! Okayyy, so first things first… Hi, I am Julia. I am currently a high school student who has just decided to dive head first into a blog. My three great loves in life are baking (obviously), triathlons (swim+bike+run=best thing ever), and family (cue the awww…). If you want to learn more about me and my blog feel free to go to my about me section, shoot me an email, or leave a comment! Like I said above, I am still very new to this blogging thing, but I will do my best to get back to you!

OK, onto these amazing bars… This recipe is super easy, and comes from one of my favorite food blogs Averie Cooks. Her food is quick to make and SO good! I have made these bars a couple of times and each time they turn out wonderfully.

This past time when I was making them, I was shopping at the grocery store trying to find raspberry jam. I was in a hurry because I was shopping with my dad, and we had two Ben and Jerry’s ice cream tubs in the cart melting… Yeah not the smartest way to shop, but I remembered the jam last minute so ya gotta do what ya gotta do, right? So for the good of my dear friends B and J’s, I quickly saw a jar of jam and ran. Good news: The B and J’s was saved from completely melting. Bad news: I accidentally bought blackberry jam!!! Have no fear though, these bars can be used with ANY berry jam! Whoop whoop! I decided to use strawberry jam instead and yep, awesome! Moral of the story: Make ice cream your last stop at the grocery store, or else it may cloud your judgment. Moral of the story: These bars can be made with whatever jam suits your fancy.

Berry Oatmeal Crumble Bars

Ingredients:
1 stick unsalted butter
1/2 cup granulate sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup flour
3/4 old-fashioned whole-rolled oats (not quick cook)
1/8 teaspoon salt
12 ounce jar of your choice of berry preserves

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8 by 8 inch square pan with cooking spray and set aside.
2) In a large microwave-safe bowl add butter and heat in microwave until melted.
3) Add sugars and vanilla, then whisk until combined.
4) Using a wooden spoon add flour, oats, salt, and stir until combined. At this point you can use your hands to finish combing the crumble.
5) Set 1 cup of the crumble mixture aside, then pat the remaining crumble mixture in the pan to form a crust.
6) Spread preserves completely over the crust.
7) Take the 1 cup of crumble mixture and sprinkle over the crust. Try to form larger crumble pieces by squeezing the mixture in your hands.
8) Bake for about 30-33 minutes. The edges should be set, while the middle has just set. (The middle may be a bit wiggly, but that is OK because it will harden once it cools.) Allow bars to cool for at least 2 hours before slicing into them.
9) Enjoy!

Recipe from Averie Cooks.

Leave a Reply

