Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies Pic 1

You guys I am in love… with sea salt! OK, so I always have liked that sweet and salty combination, but it wasn’t until I went on vacation to Maui (I know… tough being me, right?) a few weeks back that I fell head over heels in love! So while on vacay I kept having desserts with sea salt. Side note –> Has anyone ever done the entire Road to Hana? While over in Maui my family tried the Road to Hana but we only made it about halfway. Honestly after popping some motion sickness pills I didn’t even notice all of the turns so the way there was fantastic! The way back… well I couldn’t tell ya, I was out cold (note to self: get non-drowsy motion sickness pills next time).

So what does any of this have to do with chocolate chip cookies? Well two things: First, I had some bomb cookies on the Road to Hana. Second, these cookies have sea salt on them! Sweet+salty lovers rejoice! If I had a chocolate chip cookie wall of fame (which I kind of do…) these would be on it!

A couple of notes on the cookies before the recipe: 1) I do not want to say sea salt is a must, but it kind of is. And do not make the mistake I made on these cookies where I put a sprinkle or two of sea salt on the cookies, sprinkle liberally. Trust me, today is not the day to be sea salt conscience. You’ll thank me later. 2) Originally the recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, but I encourage 1 full tablespoon. And FINALLY 3) The original recipe also called for a certain amount of bread flour, and a certain amount of cake flour, but after some calculations the weight of both the flours is the almost the same as regular old all purpose flour. Here is where you can be a savvy saver. OK, without further adieu, the best chocolate chip cookie recipe…

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
3 2/3 cups minus 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 1/2 sticks unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
6 ounces semi sweet chocolate finely chopped
Sea salt

Directions:
1) In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
2) In a large bowl, using a handheld or stand mixer, cream butter and sugars on medium high speed together until very light in color, about 5 minutes.
3) One at a time, add the eggs, mixing well after each addition. Stir in vanilla.
4) Mix flour mixture on low speed just until combined.
5) Stir in chopped chocolate then refrigerate for at least 2 hours or overnight.
6) When ready to bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Scoop 1/8-1/4 cup mounds of cookie dough onto cookie sheets. Sprinkle with sea salt.
7) Bake cookies for 16-20 minutes. Allow to cool on pan for 1 minute, then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling. Cookies will stay good for 5 days in an air tight container.

Recipe adapted from New York Times — Jacques Torres.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I should really try this! I never would’ve thought of sea salt in cookies! I also do love the sweet and salty combination too! I tried dark chocolate with caramel inside with sea salt sprinkled on top. I tell ya, it was heavenly. 🙂 I’ve been on a cruise before and I never got motion sickness. I’m sorry that was probably a bad experience for you! Thanks for posting this out there! I will definitely try this!

    Like

  2. Sea salt chocolate chip cookies sound incredibly delicious! I will have to try making these sometime. I like how you include personal stories to keep your readers entertained and add your suggested modifications to the recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

