Vanilla Almond Granola

Vanilla Almond Granola

Hello weekend… Seriously who doesn’t love the weekend? You know what would really knock this weekend out of the park? This vanilla almond granola. The first time I tried this granola was at my grandma’s house. My grandma lives like 6 hours away (not included traffic… ugh) so when we go see her, we usually spend the weekend at her house. She made this granola one morning for breakfast and I think my sister and I literally inhaled the entire batch within minutes. Ever since that day my grandma always makes certain to have a batch of this granola made when we come visit her.

OK weird comment. For like 5 years I didn’t eat granola, or chips, or anything else that had the possibility of scratching my throat. When I was little I would always get chips stuck in my throat and it would hurt SO much! Actually, I did eat Cheetos. For some reason I thought that Cheetos wouldn’t scratch my throat? Anyways lets just say after 5 years of just Cheetos, I kind of haven’t eaten more than a couple since. To be honest, after going 5 years without chips, I kind of lost my love for them. Now nuts are kind of my jam when I want something crunchy, which is another reason I love this granola so much!

A few notes before the recipe… First, the recipe uses maple syrup. I highly recommend using pure maple syrup. The other stuff can be kind of sticky and your granola will not have the same taste. Second, I did not put in dried fruit to this granola, but you are more than welcome to put whatever dried fruit you like. I would recommend using about 2 cups of chopped dried fruit. And one last thing… For my almonds I used lightly salted. Because of this I decreased the salt, but if you are using regular almonds, increase the salt by 1/4 teaspoon. OK other than that here is the recipe. Have a fantastic weekend guys!

Vanilla Almond Granola

Ingredients:
1/3 cup pure maple syrup
1/3 cup light brown sugar
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt (1/2 teaspoon if using unsalted almonds)
1/2 cup canola oil (or vegetable oil)
5 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 1/2 cups lightly salted almonds, coarsely chopped

Directions:
1) Adjust the oven rack to the upper-middle position and preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Then line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.
2) In a large bowl, whisk maple syrup, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt. Fold in the oats and almonds.
3) Transfer oat mixture to the baking sheet and spread the mixture into a thin even layer. Firmly pat the mixture using a spatula, or your hands.
4) Bake for 35-40 minutes or until lightly browned. About halfway through, rotate the pan. Remove granola from the oven and allow to cool for at least 1 hour. Break the cooled granola into pieces. The granola can be stored in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

Recipe adapted from Cooks Illustrated 

Leave a Reply

