Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Cookies N Cream Ice Cream Cake

Warm weather=almost summer=ice cream cake time=happy me! Wow I don’t know about you guys but I am in seventh heaven with this warmer weather! The warmer weather also means running outside (no more treadmill!), hikes through the woods, and above all flip-flops!!! It is also so nice seeing people outside again. Literally, I think most people forget they have neighbors in Minnesota winters because even us Minnesotan’s do not like going outside in -20 degree weather and 50 mile per hour winds. Along with this amazingly nice weather comes green grass, budding trees, and flowers! Oh how I love flowers. So question here… What is really the difference between a weed and a flower? So I was on a walk with my mom and I said, “Look at the pretty purple flowers.” Then my mom informed me the “flowers” were actually weeds. How can something be so pretty but be considered a weed? The same thing with dandelions. When I was little I would hate it when my parents would spray the dandelions. I loved how they looked like a field of gold. Now and days my mom (who is big into birds/gardens/stuff like that) found out that dandelions attract bees and so she will not let my dad spray for dandelions anymore. <– When I heard that dandelions attract bees, I finally agreed with my dad that they should be sprayed. Have you ever gotten stung by a bee?! I me ouch! Those things know how to really put a damper on a person’s perfect summer day. (FYI my perfect summer day would include this ice cream cake.)

Anyways back to the ice cream cake… I am in love with ice cream and putting it into cake form tops it off. The great thing about this recipe is it can be altered to your specific likes. Just choose your cookie, sauce, and two ice cream flavors and you are all set. This recipe is so great because it is quick and no bake making it the perfect summer (or anytime) dessert!

Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ingredients:
1 (18 ounce) package cookies of your choice (I used Oreos)
1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup hot fudge sauce (or caramel, or any other kind of sauce)
1 quart cookies and cream ice cream (or your favorite ice cream)
1 quart cookie dough ice cream
Whipped cream for garnish (optional)

Directions:
1) Crush about 20-22 cookies in a ziplock bag. Stir cookie crumbs with melted butter. Press cookie crumbs into a 9 or 10 inch springform pan to form the crust. Stand the remaining cookies around the edge of the pan. Pour hot fudge (or sauce of your choosing) over crust. Freeze for at least 15 minutes.
2) While the crust is freezing, take one quart of ice cream out of the freezer to thaw. You want your ice creams to be at a stir-able consistency. Spread softened ice cream over the hot fudge. Freeze for at least 30 minutes.
3) Scoop remaining ice cream into balls and arrange over spread ice cream layer. Freeze until firm, about 4 hours or overnight. Serve with whipped cream, cherries, and hot fudge.

Recipe from All Recipes

2 thoughts on “Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Leave a Reply

