Party Monster Cookie Bars

Party Monster Cookie Bars

These are one of the BEST bars I have ever eaten and they are gluten-free! Whoa! OK truth time: These bars were meant to be made with M&M’s, but I kind of ran out! Wha??? How could someone ever run out of M&M’s?! Well I did, but have no fear what started out as a tragedy turned into a party! Behold the party monster cookie bars.

So let me give you some background on why I made these bars without having the all of the ingredients. You see, I wanted to send some bars down to my cousins, but I had no M&M’s! None, nota, zipo. So what was I to do? Well I first thought of just making these bars without the M&M’s, but there is something about these bars that would just not be the same without that pop of color. I sorted through our pantry shelves (which I really need to organize… like stat) and I found some sprinkles. Win win if you ask me… win. Side note –> Does anyone watch The Office? I have watched a couple of episodes, but I am not nearly as addicted as my sister. I find some of the The Office episodes funny, but others are eh. What is funny though is watching my sister watch this show! I mean talk about a comedy! The show totally is her sense of humor.  I think she laughs for at least 24 minutes in the show… and each episode is only about 20 minutes. The anticipation makes her laugh and then it takes about 3 minutes for her to finally stop laughing when the show is done.

So what does any of this have to do with these bars? Well really nothing, but I thought that was just to funny of a story to keep to myself if you ask me… OK these bars: Very versatile. Want to put M&M’s on the top instead of sprinkles? No problem. I suggest about 1 cup of M&M’s. Want both sprinkles and M&M’s? Sure why not?! Heaven forbid not a butterscotch eater? Sub all butterscotch chips for chocolate chips (or really your favorite chips… like I said really versatile). So have fun with these… Let your imagination (and stomach!) run wild!

Ingredients:
2 eggs
2/3 cup light brown sugar
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup creamy peanut butter (NOT natural because natural does not spread as evenly)
3/4 cup semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips
3/4 cup butterscotch chips
3 cups quick oats
1/4 cup of sprinkles

Directions:
1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×13 inch pan with cooking spray.
2) Using an electric or handheld mixer, combine eggs and sugars and mix on a medium-high speed until completely combined. Add the salt, vanilla, peanut butter, and butter and mix until creamy and well combined.
3) Add both flavors of chips, baking soda, and oatmeal on low speed until combined. The batter will be fairly thick.
4) Spread batter into pan and press lightly into an even layer. Sprinkle the sprinkles evenly across the dough and press gently down on them.
5) Bake for 18-24 minutes or until a tooth pick comes out with a few moist crumbs. Allow bars to cool and then dig in!

Recipe adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

One thought on “Party Monster Cookie Bars

Leave a Reply

