Peanut Butter Pretzel Blondies

Peanut Butter Pretzel Blondies

Let’s go! Peanut butter pretzel blondies in da house! <– Whoa to much of a sugar rush ya think? Well eating of pan of these would probably do that to you… Not that I would know of course. These blondies are the perfect sweet and salty combo wrapped up into a delicious chewy blondie.

OK so this post was supposed to be posted 2 days ago… Whoops… Life I tell ya, it can be crazy. Any who right now the weather guys are saying 80 degrees on Friday (fingers crossed)! Over the weekend my dad and I did a duathlon race. Kind of like a triathlon except for you run, bike, run. So no swimming. For some reason 40 degree lakes are not the optimal swimming weather… Weird right? OK so the race was bomb! The runs were peachy, the bike was brutal though. Biking into 20 MPH winds is not so fun. I almost fell over on my bike! <– That would have been embarrassing! Disaster averted though. After the bike my hands were so numb I couldn’t get my helmet off! Finally after a minute or two I finally managed to break free of my helmet! (Phew!) Literally I was contemplating either asking someone to help me take it off or just do the last run with my helmet on… Yeah neither really sounded that appealing to my either. Overall though I had a blast and can’t wait for my first triathlon of the year! Oh the adrenaline!

So these blondies… Whoa man… whoa. The other day I was really craving something with pretzels. And peanut butter. And M&M’s. So why not bake all of that into a blondie?! Can you say light bulb moment?! Really simple, no mixer, toss everything in and wait for magic. That simple. Seriously.

Peanut Butter Pretzel Blondies

Ingredients:
1/3 cup butter
1/3 cup peanut butter
1 egg
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup crushed pretzels
1/2 cup M&M’s

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8×8 inch square pan with cooking spray and set aside.
2) Melt butter and peanut butter either in the microwave or over a stovetop stirring until combined. Poor mixture into a large bowl then add the egg, brown sugar, and vanilla and whisk until combined.
3) In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Add flour mixture to peanut butter mixture and stir just until combined.
4) Stir in crushed pretzels. The batter will be very thick.
5) Turn batter into prepared pan then top with M&M’s. Push down slightly on the M&M’s so they stick to the batter.
6) Bake bars for about 18-23 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out with a few moist crumbs. Bars will stay good stored in an air tight container for up to 5 days.

Recipe adapted from Averie Cooks

One thought on “Peanut Butter Pretzel Blondies

Leave a Reply

