Sugar Cookie Bars

Sugar Cookie Bars 1

Sprinkles, sprinkles, sprinkles!!! Let’s go! Ditch the mixer, the chilling and scooping out of dough, and have some cookie bars instead! These cookie bars are super think, that make your mouth do a little dance when you sink your teeth into one of these bad boys.

Sugar cookie bars… Yeeeesss. I made these bars for a grad party. <– Actually, I made these bars plus like a thousand other desserts for my cousin’s grad party. Literally, I don’t know if I saw the outside world for like 3 days straight… OK slight exaggeration, but still, lots of dessert and licking of batter :).

So while I was at my cousin’s grad party, I was talking with some of my other cousins and they brought up the topic “if you could hoard 1 thing what would it be?” I said running shoes (although eggs would have been a close second since I go through like 2 dozen eggs a week). I mean, I go through running shoes like there is no tomorrow! It is not uncommon to find like 3 pairs of my running shoes in my closet. But seriously I think it is a very telling question. I think I could have guessed the question for my mom and grandma (books), and sure enough I ask them and they said “books”.

These bars. Yes these bars. Before I made these bars, I noticed they called for using a mixer to beat the butter. Now as I said before, I was making tons of desserts and my mixer was currently occupied. So I decided to just melt the butter and be on my way. Totally works! I actually preferred these bars this way. Lastly, I added more sprinkles to the top of the batter, just to give them an extra pop of color. Enjoy!

Sugar Cookie Bars

Ingredients:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
1/2 cup (nonpareils) sprinkles

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8 or 9 inch square pan with cooking spray. Set aside.
2) In a large bowl, whisk together melted butter, sugar, egg and egg yolk, and vanilla.
3) In medium bowl whisk together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cornstarch. Slowly add the dry mixture to the wet mixture. Fold in sprinkles.
4) Spread batter evenly into prepared pan. Bake for 23-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Bars will stay good in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

Recipe adapted slightly from Sally’s Baking Addiction

 

Leave a Reply

