Mini Blueberry Muffins

Mini Blueberry Muffins

I just love love love blueberries! I always stock up on blueberries when ever they come into season, and therefore am always looking for recipes that use blueberries. Thank you mini blueberry muffins. While these muffins may be mini they sure do pack a punch, satisfying any blueberry craving you have!

OK, so I have been kind of holding out on you guys… These muffins were actually used for a brunch like 100 years ago. I put a picture of them on my How to Host a Summer Brunch post, but just never got around to actually posting the recipe. Well today is finally the day! My aunt actually brought these mini blueberry muffins to the brunch and they were SO good I just knew I needed the recipe from her! So on other notes, here in Minnesota it has been HOT! Humidity is soaring and the temps are supposed to go into the 90’s today. Now for some the 90’s may not seem hot, but in Minnesota it considered a heat wave. Thank goodness for air-conditioning! Now I know this is such a first world problem, but at my old house I used to live in (and I do mean old… like 100 years old) did not have central air-conditioning installed! *Gasp!* Instead every spring, my Dad would haul out the window air conditioners and we would run them like there was no tomorrow. Now on windy days, the window air-conditioner in the dining room would sound like a ghost. No joke. For the first few years we lived in that house, I was convinced it was haunted. I would like to point out I was like 5 and I also thought the worst thing in life would be running out of ice cream. Actually, that thought is still pretty freaky…

Mini blueberry muffins are money! Of course these muffins can also be made in a regular muffin tin, just fill the muffin tines with batter 2/3 of the way full and increase the baking time to about 20 minutes. Get ready to enjoy those blueberries!

Mini Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour + 1 tablespoon divided
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup fresh blueberries

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees then spray mini muffin tin with cooking spray. Set aside.
2) In a large bowl, whisk together 2 cups of flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
3) Using a handheld or electric mixer, cream butter and sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy. Add eggs, milk, and vanilla and mix well to combine.
4) With the mixer on low-speed, slowly add dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.
5) In another small bowl, toss blueberries with flour. Fold blueberries into the muffin batter.
6) Pour muffin batter into the mini muffin tin about 2/3 of the way full. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle combs out with a few moist crumbs. Muffins will stay good in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 5 days.

Recipe from my Aunt Steph

2 thoughts on “Mini Blueberry Muffins

  1. Look so yummy and definitely my fav muffin! Being gluten intolerant, I will be trying these with almond floor and brown rice flour to determine which I like best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

