Mocha Java Latte Granola

Chocolate Expresso Granola

Coffee and chocolate lovers rejoice! This granola is perfect for a wake-up breakfast, or throughout the day snacking. With just a few ingredients, this granola can be whipped up and placed in the oven in minutes! 

Confession time: Before about a month ago, I was not much of a coffee drinker. I mean, every so often I would get an iced coffee with lots of vanilla and cream, or I would muster down hot coffee, with again, lots of cream, but never would I make coffee the star of the show when I bake! But then I went to Europe, which is a 7 hour time difference from home, coffee was  a must every day. About half way through the trip I discovered something. I actually began to enjoy coffee, and the stronger the better! Pretty soon I was chugging European espressos, which let me tell ya is some strong stuff. I returned from my trip just knowing I had to bake with coffee, and since my sister had been talking about granola, I was like why not?!

There are not many things to note about this granola other than its extreme yumminess! The only thing I will mention is if you are not able to find chocolate covered espresso beans (like me), don’t fret! Chocolate chips will do the trick. Oh, and just because there is coffee in the granola doesn’t mean you can’t also have a cup of coffee on the side as well. 🙂

 

Mocha Java Latte Granola

Ingredients:
3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (not quick cooking oats)
3/4 cup slivered almonds
2 tablespoons ground coffee (if using dark roast, cut down to 1/5 tablespoons)
2 tablespoons melted coconut oil
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
pinch of salt
1/2 cup chocolate covered espresso beans (or chocolate chips)

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line a baking or cookie sheet with parchment paper, set aside.
2) In a large bowl, toss oats, almonds, and coffee. Set aside.
3) In a small bowl, whisk coconut oil, honey, and cocoa powder. Whisk in salt. Pour over dry ingredients and mix until combined.
4) Spread granola onto prepared baking sheet and then bake for 15 minutes. Remove from oven, then carefully stir the oats around. Return granola to the oven and bake for 10 more minutes.
5) Immediately after removing the granola from the oven, stir in espresso beans (or chocolate chips). Keep granola in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 2-3 weeks.

Recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction

One thought on “Mocha Java Latte Granola

Leave a Reply

