Old Fashioned Ice Box Cookies

Ice Box Cookies

Brown sugar is the star of the show for these cookies. This recipe is about a half a decade old, so get ready to go back to some old-fashioned goodness!

Okkkkkayyyyyy, I am so ecstatic about these cookies! You see, a couple of weeks ago I was talking to my grandma about how cool it would be to have an old recipe from our family. My grandma then informs me not only did my great-grandma like to cook, but she actually did scrapbooks of recipes she would collect or create herself! I mean how cool! It turns out my mom actually held onto one of my great-grandma’s recipe scrapbooks. Immediately I wanted to try a recipe from the scrapbook, and fell upon a recipe for “ice box cookies”. Reading through the ingredients I just knew these cookies would be fantastic! Once I took them out of the oven, my assumption was correct as I took my first bite of pure bliss!

Ice Box Cookies 2

My great-grandma’s recipe for these cookies is kind of like slice n’ bake cookies where you roll the cookie dough into a log, then allow the dough to chill in the fridge, and finally slice em up and bake! OK, I few things about these cookies. First, my great-grandma had a gigantic family (think: 12 kids), so this recipe called for way more cookies than my small family of 4 could ever eat, which is why I halved the recipe. Feel free to double it though and just make 2 logs of dough. 1 more thing…. I omitted nuts in my cookies but you can feel free to add them in. If using salted nuts, just cut back on the salt a bit. Enjoy this old-time classic!

Old Fashioned Ice Box Cookies

Ingredients:
1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:
1) Using an electric or hand-held mixer, beat butter on high-speed until creamy. Add brown sugar, egg, and vanilla and mix until combined.
2) In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt. With the mixer on low-speed, slowly add dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix until combined.
3) Roll dough into a log shape and place in refrigerator for at least 1 hour.
4) Just before baking cookies, preheat oven to 350 degrees.
5) Remove cookie dough log from the fridge and slice dough into 1/4-1/2 inch rounds. Place on cookie sheets and bake for 8-10 minutes.
6) Allow cookies to cool on cookie sheet for 1 minute, then remove to wire rack to finish cooling completely. Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 5 days.

Recipe adapted slightly from my great-grandma Paulson

4 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Ice Box Cookies

  1. Julia, how fun was this to find this recipe from a great grandma and try it and discover how delicious it was! Good job on that one.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. I found this such a touching post Julia and the cookies were great too! I hope you try more of my moms recipes in the future. Thanks to your mom too for hanging on to the scrapbook!

    Like

Leave a Reply

