Apple Pie

 

Apple Pie 1

Guess what’s finally here?! Apple season!!!!!!!!!!!! What better way to start apple season, than to make a good ole apple pie!

My favorite fruit has always been apples. Each year apples are about the only thing that get me through the transition from summer to fall. I love being able to go to the apple orchard and pick up some apples. My favorite apple orchard is only about a 15 minute drive away, and it is the cutest! They have everything from hay rides, to pumpkin patches, to corn mazes. And at the center of the orchard is a tall tower with a staircase that you can climb to see over all over the orchard. This year I am planning on bringing my younger cousins so I can relive my days of going through the little kiddy corn maze, because I will be “helping” my 4-year-old cousin. Another thing that I love about the apple orchard? Jam. Apple pie jam to be exact. This past year I probably had my mom buy me about 10 jars of apple pie jam, and guess what? It wasn’t enough! I ran out of apple pie jam by February! This year I am going all in on the jam buying. This is not something you fool around with ya know?!

OK so what does all of this have to do with apple pie? Well, other than apples are now in season, the apple filling in this pie reminds me of the apple orchard apple pie jam. The tart apples combined with a touch of cinnamon and a dash of vanilla is divine! Here’s to the start of apple season!

Apple Pie

Ingredients:
1 prepared double pie crust, store-bought or homemade
6 cups granny smith apples, peeled, cored, and sliced
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Extra granulated sugar and cinnamon for dusting the crust

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2) In a large bowl, combine apples, sugar, flour, cinnamon, and vanilla. Place first pie crust in pie pan. Pour filling into crust, then layer second crust over filling. Sprinkle crust with sugar and cinnamon.
3) Cover the edges of the pie with foil and bake for 25 minutes. Remove foil and bake for another 20-25 minutes, or until the top of the crust is golden brown. Set pie on a wire rack and allow to completely cool before slicing and serving. Pie will stay good covered in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.

Recipe from “Better Homes Cookbook”

One thought on “Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

