Peanut Butter Energy Bites

pb-energy-bites

These energy bites are da bomb dot com! They are my new go-to snack and they include only good for you stuff! Another plus? These are gluten and dairy free!

OK so before I get to these amazing energy bites, I had a very weird event happen a few days ago. With my dad out of town on business and my sister away at college, it was just my mom and I at home. In our house we have this really loud security system that can wake up the neighborhood. We set it each night so if someone were to break open the door we would hear it. So around 4 a.m. I wake up to this super loud alarm going off! I immediately jump out of bed and go into the hallway where I meet my mom. She rushes me into her room and locks the bedroom door. After about 10 seconds the alarm stops like nothing ever happened. This is where is gets weird, the only way our security alarm would stop is if someone were to type in the code, so my mom and I were like “what just happened?” After a few minutes we came to the conclusion it was just a fluke and tried to go back to sleep until it was time to get up. Anyways, the next morning my mom and I go downstairs and check everything out and we end up finding the intruder in the basement! The culprit? My cat Midnight :). It turns out he knocked over the siren to our security system.

So that was how I started my week. Let’s hope the rest of the week isn’t quiet as eventful. OK now on to these protein packed, cholesterol boosting, awesomely yummy peanut butter energy bites. They come together in minutes and make for a great grab-and-go snack!

Peanut Butter Energy Bites

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/3 cup maple syrup
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon chia seeds
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:
1) In a large bowl, stir together rolled oats, peanut butter, maple syrup, cinnamon, and chia seeds. Stir in chocolate chips.
2) Using a 1/2 tablespoon, roll balls into circles then place in the fridge for at least 1 hour. Energy bites stay good in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 4 days or in the fridge for up to 1 week.

Recipe from not that julia 

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Energy Bites

  1. Thanks for coming up with these gluten-free and dairy free treats! Since I am your gluten-free grandma, I am thankful that you have recipes for people like me too😊👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

