Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

oatmeal-chocolate-chip-cookies

These oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are the ultimate comfort cookie. Each bite boasts loads of chocolatey goodness! 

These cookies are super-duper easy! You just mix a little of this, a little of that, and presto! Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies! All of this being said, the first time I made these cookies did not go so well. You see this recipe calls for canola oil. Unfortunately, at the time I was making these cookies I had run out of canola oil. “No problem,” I thought “I will just use olive oil!” Sometimes when I am baking and need to sub for canola oil I use extra light olive oil, so I thought it would taste fine. *Sigh*…. The only olive oil in the pantry was this new kind that was NOT extra light olive oil to put it mildly. It was the strongest olive oil I have ever smelled! But of course I already have the ingredients out, so I finish making the cookies anyway (really not one of my finer moments). Long story short, the cookies tasted very olivey and overall disgusting! My mom being my mom, who usually eats anything that I bake and says it is good, spit out the cookie! We agreed it was probably one of the worst tasting cookies ever. Moral of the story? Do not sub olive oil for canola oil in these cookies.

OK so basically if you stay clear of olive oil in these cookies you will be fine! The second time I made them they turned out perfect! Just a quick note: I made the cookie dough tablespoon balls which made for smaller cookies. If you prefer big cookies, you can make 2 tablespoonfuls for each cookie. Enjoy!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups rolled oats
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup canola oil, or melted coconut oil
2 large eggs
4 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 cups milk chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2) Using an electric or handheld mixer, mix together oatmeal, flour, sugars, baking soda, salt, canola oil, eggs, and vanilla until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
3) Scoop dough into tablespoon balls. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Cookies will stay good in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

Recipe from Half Baked Harvest

Leave a Reply

