Maple Glaze Cinnamon Apple Scones

apple-scones

These maple apple scones are my favorite scone ever! Each bite tastes like fall. Apple scone + maple drizzle + cinnamon sugar = Pure amazing!

Ugh… Every fall I always tell myself I am not going to get sick. Of course for some reason I always end up getting a fall cold. So this year came along and again I told myself I was not going to get sick. I actually started to believe this as in years’ past I get sick in mid September. But alas, I am now suffering a sore throat, headache, and the chills. Not fun. Hopefully I can kick this cold to the curb! Side note –> Real quick, funny story about these scones. So these scones require grated butter which you would grate just like cheese. The butter looked like mozzarella cheese when I was finished grating it and so I ask my dad if he wanted some “mozzarella cheese.” You guys I almost had him! At the last second I gave in and told him the “cheese” was actually butter. 🙂

Onto these scones. As I said above, these are seriously my favorite scones I have ever eaten! They are also surprisingly easy to make too. My favorite way to eat these scones is warm out of the over with a generous scoop of vanilla ice cream!

Maple Glazed Cinnamon Apple Scones

Ingredients:
Scones:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, grated on a box grated just like cheese
1 egg
3/4 cup buttermilk + more for brushing
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 large honeycrisp apple, chopped
Mixture of 1/4 cup granulated sugar and 1 tablespoon cinnamon for sprinkling

Glaze:
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
Pinch of sea salt

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Set aside.
2) In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Add the butter and toss to combine. Add egg, buttermilk, and vanilla mixing just until combined. Fold in apples.
3) Place dough on a floured surface and pat into a 1 inch circle. Cut the dough into 8 wedges. Place wedges onto baking sheets. Brush each with buttermilk.
4) Bake scones until golden brown, 15-18 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through.
5) While the scones are baking, make the glaze. Whisk together butter, maple syrup, vanilla, and sea salt. Whisk in powdered sugar.
6) Allow the scones to cool slightly and then drizzle with the maple glaze and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Scones are best warm, but will stay good in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 4 days.

Recipe from Half Baked Harvest

One thought on “Maple Glaze Cinnamon Apple Scones

Leave a Reply

