Maple Pecan Blondies

maple-pecan-blondies

Oh yum!!! Theses maple pecan blondies are so moist but you still get that extra crunch with the addition of the pecans! These bars are seriously pure mapley nutty goodness!

So I am in a love-to-hate relationship right now. Most of the time it’s love, but every so often it is just like ughhhhhh! Who is my love-to-hate relationship with you may ask? Fantasy football… Some weeks we just click. I put in the right players, they score lots, I totally school the opposing team, and everything is awesome! Other weeks if I didn’t know any better, I would think I was trying to get the all time high points for my bench. But I guess you win some and you lose some (although if I am being honest I defiantly prefer to win :)).

Okayyyyyy….. So quick back story on these blondies. A few days ago, my grandma was spending the night at our house. Now my grandma absolutely loves maple pecan flavored desserts so I decided why not make maple pecan blondies?! Two quick things about these blondies. First, I was taste testing these bad boys with a cold so the blondies are pretty sweet. A few days after my cold ended, I tried the blondies again and loved the sweetness level, but if you really want the maple flavor to shine through, decrease the brown sugar to 3/4 cup and increase the maple syrup to 1/3 cup. And lastly, due to the maple syrup in the blondies, they make look like they are getting brown along the edges half way through baking. Have no fear, this is actually just the maple syrup crystalizing. These blondies go perfect with some afternoon coffee (or morning, I won’t judge)!

Maple Pecan Blondies

Ingredients:
1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 egg
1 cup brown sugar, or to taste
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup pecans, chopped

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8 inch square baking pan with cooking spray and set aside.
2) In a large bowl whisk butter and egg until combined. Whisk in brown sugar and vanilla. Finally, whisk in maple syrup. Set aside.
3) In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Slowly fold in dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, stirring just until combined. Fold in pecans.
4) Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 23-27 minutes, or until a tooth pick inserted into the center comes out clean. Bars will stay good at room temperature in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

Blondie base recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction

One thought on “Maple Pecan Blondies

Leave a Reply

