Pumpkin Slab Pie

pumpkin-slab-pie

All the goodness of pumpkin pie plus double the size of regular pie! Can there be a dessert more perfect for company?!

Sooooooooo confession… I actually made this pie for Thanksgiving, but one holiday for a pie this good is just not enough ya know!? As I mentioned in previous posts, we hosted 18 people and therefore we naturally had 3 HUGE desserts. And I mean HUGE! Like 15 servings of cheesecake, an apple slab pie, and a pumpkin slab pie with servings of 24 each! Lets just say that as much as we tried, the most leftovers were from dessert (not that I am complaining of course ;)). Now since I am on a roll with confessions, I have another one… I was never a big pumpkin pie fan… Until this one that is. I know! I am not sure what it was, maybe the texture? Any ways, it just never appealed to me until I made this pie. Boy did this pie open my eyes to a whole new definition of pure pumpkiny goodness! <– Seriously, I think this pie might be life changing.

Oh did I mention this pie is super easy? Yep, it totally is. Just slap some pie crust together, whisk the filling ingredients, bake, and bam! Pumpkin pie for 24! I use my favorite pie crust from this recipe, but you can totally do whatever double crust you would use for your pies. Also, this pie is great for making ahead! You can make the pie a couple of days ahead of time and then stick it in the fridge. All that’s left to do after that is to EAT!

Pumpkin Slab Pie

Ingredients:
1 double pie crust (homemade or store-bought)

For the filling:
2 (15 ounce) cans pumpkin puree
4 large eggs
2 cups heavy cream
1/4 cup milk
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 tablespoons cornstarch
2 teaspoons cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

Directions:

1) In a large bowl, whisk all of the filling ingredients together. Refrigerate until ready to use.
2) When ready to bake pie, preheat oven to 375 degrees.
3) Roll out pie dough on a lightly floured surface. Roll into a rectangle approximately 18×13 inches. Transfer dough to a 10×15 jelly roll pan. Smooth the bottom of the crust, and pinch the edges of the pie crust.
4) Pour filling into pie crust, and spread evenly. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the middle is only slightly jiggly. Remove from oven and allow to cool on a wire rack completely. Pie can be made ahead of time and refrigerated for up to 5 days.

Recipe adapted slightly from Sally’s Baking Addiction

One thought on “Pumpkin Slab Pie

  1. Kind of like you – never was really crazy about pumpkin pie. But when I saw this one. well it
    changed my mind. Now I am anxious to make one again! Thanks Julia!

    Like

Leave a Reply

