Triple Layer Brownie Chocolate Chip Oreo Cake (Slutty Brownie Cake)

slutty-brownie-cake

This cake is unbelievable! You get the outcome of 3 different flavors, all while making just 1 main batter! Get ready for a show stopping dessert…

First off… Happy New Year! It is always sad to see the holidays pass, but I have to say I kind of did a happy dance when we took down the tree! I mean for me I absolutely love the holidays, but after New Years I am ready to move onto the next thing! OK, so short story that is kind of, sort of, not really on topic with this cake. I have been struggling at the grocery store recently. I have gone 2 times in the past week (don’t judge) and each time I just could not find something. Maybe it was the out of the ordinary extreme crowds (I seriously never knew how many people lived in my town until I went to the grocery store around the holidays), or who knows what, but man oh man! My first trip I was looking for ricotta cheese. After about 5 minutes of looking, I finally asked someone and they were all out! After about another 5 minutes of staring longingly for ricotta, I cut my losses. OK, I promise my second trip to the grocery store ties this story in with the cake. So, I was looking for molasses (which is needed in this cake) and couldn’t find any. I looked for about 10 minutes and was just stumped! I was starting to worry I wouldn’t find it and wouldn’t be able to make this cake for New Years, until an almost heavenly light shown on the molasses. I literally skipped over it 3 times! Spoiler: It was by the syrup, not the flour.

Now onto this cake. It may look daunting, but it is actually is pretty basic. You will make one cake batter, and then divide that cake batter into three separate bowls. Stir in 1-2 ingredients per bowl, spread in the pans, bake, and BAM! 3 different flavors of cake! It is like a 3 for 1 sale only better! Decorate the cake with vanilla frosting, top with Oreos and chocolate chips and bite into amazingly goodness!

Triple Brownie Chocolate Chip Oreo Cake (Slutty Brownie Cake)

Ingredients:
For the cake batter:
4 cups cake flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temp
2 cups granulated sugar
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
4 eggs
2 cups buttermilk

Cookie Dough Layer:
3/4 teaspoon molasses
1/2 cup milk chocolate chips

Oreo Layer:
8 Oreos, crumbled

Brownie Layer:
1/3 cup dutch processed cocoa powder

For Decorating:
Vanilla frosting, store-bought or homemade
Chocolate chips
Oreos

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray three 9 inch cake pans with baking spray and set aside.
2) In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
3) Using an electric or handheld mixer, beat together butter and sugar on medium-high speed for 4 minutes. One at a time add the eggs, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla.
4) Reduce mixer speech to low and slowly add half of the flour mixture. Add 1 cup of buttermilk and mix until combined. Add the other half of the flour mixture. Finally, add the remaining 1 cup of buttermilk, mixing just until combined.
5) Divide batter into 3 bowls, and add various mix-ins for each layer listed above.
6) Pour batter into 3 prepared cake pans and bake for 27-33 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. After a few minutes, remove cake from cake pans and place on wire rack until completely cool.
7) Decorate cake as desired using frosting, chocolate chips, and Oreos. Cake will stay good for up to 3 days at room temperature, or up to 5 days in the fridge.

Adapted slightly from What’s Gaby Cooking

2 thoughts on “Triple Layer Brownie Chocolate Chip Oreo Cake (Slutty Brownie Cake)

  1. Loved your story behind the cake!  And I like the name of the cake, too.  Way too amazing.

    From: notthatjulia To: carambo@sbcglobal.net Sent: Tuesday, January 3, 2017 6:05 PM Subject: [New post] Triple Layer Brownie Chocolate Chip Oreo Cake (Slutty Brownie Cake) #yiv4614741789 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4614741789 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4614741789 a.yiv4614741789primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4614741789 a.yiv4614741789primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4614741789 a.yiv4614741789primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4614741789 a.yiv4614741789primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4614741789 WordPress.com | juliajules13 posted: “This cake is unbelievable! You get the outcome of 3 different flavors, all while making just 1 main batter! Get ready for a show stopping dessert…First off… Happy New Year! It is always sad to see the holidays pass, but I have to say I kind of d” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

